Download - Call for Research Papers: PDF

The International Systems and Software Product Line Conference (SPLC) is a premier forum where researchers, practitioners, and educators can present and discuss the most recent ideas, trends, experiences, and challenges in the area of software and system product lines engineering.

The 20th SPLC will be held in Beijing, China, September 19-23, 2016.

For the research track, we invite high quality submissions describing original and unpublished results in all areas related to software product line engineering.


Abstract Submission: March 7, 2016 (extended!)

Paper Submission: March 14, 2016 (extended!)

Notification of Acceptance: April 25, 2016

Camera-ready Paper Due: May 23, 2016

Conference: Sept. 19-23, 2016


Topics include but are not limited to:

  • Domain analysis and requirements engineering
  • Product line design, architecture, and implementation
  • Variability management and product derivation
  • Business, economics, organizational, and process issues
  • Product line evolution and life-cycle
  • Validation and verification
  • Non-functional considerations
  • Multi product lines, product lines of product lines
  • Open source systems
  • Software ecosystems and supply chains
  • Incremental development of product lines
  • Non-traditional applications of product line concepts


  • Full papers describing original results of conceptual, theoretical, empirical, and experimental research. The papers in this category must rely on theoretical and/or empirical evaluation.
  • Short/Vision papers describing emerging technical and business directions, future trends, emerging ideas and outstanding challenges along with possible approaches for resolving them.

The page limit is 10 pages for full papers and 5 pages for short/vision papers. Submissions should follow the ACM SIGS proceedings format and will be reviewed by at least three members of the SPLC 2015 Research Track program committee.

Previous SPLC proceedings have been published with ACM and we plan to continue this tradition.




  • SPLC 2016 will feature a best paper award for the Research Track.
  • For all further information please refer to


SPLC 2016 General Chair:

  • Hong Mei, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

Research Chairs:

  • Rick Rabiser, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria
  • Bing Xie, Peking University, China

Local Chair:

  • Dan Hao, Peking University, China


  • Mathieu Acher, Univ. of Rennes I / INRIA, France
  • Shaukat Ali, Simula Research Laboratory, Norway
  • Eduardo Almeida, Federal Univ. of Bahia, Brazil
  • Ebrahim Bagheri, Ryerson Univ., Canada
  • Don Batory, Univ. of Texas at Austin, USA
  • Maurice H. ter Beek, ISTI-CNR, Pisa, Italy
  • David Benavides, Univ. of Seville, Spain
  • Thorsten Berger, Chalmers Univ. of Technology, Sweden
  • Jan Bosch, Chalmers Univ. of Technology, Sweden
  • Goetz Botterweck, Lero/Univ. Limerick, Ireland
  • Claus Brabrand, IT Univ. of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Philippe Collet, Univ. Nice Sophia Antipolis, France
  • Ulrich Eisenecker, Univ. of Leipzig, Germany
  • Christoph Elsner, Siemens AG, Germany
  • Stefania Gnesi, ISTI-CNR, Italy
  • Patrick Heymans, Univ. of Namur, Belgium
  • Kyo C. Kang, Samsung Electronics, South Korea
  • Christian Kästner, Carnegie Mellon Univ., USA
  • Tomoji Kishi, Waseda Univ., Japan
  • Kwanwoo Lee, Hansung Univ., South Korea
  • Jaejoon Lee, Lancaster Univ., UK
  • Axel Legay, IRISA/INRIA Rennes, France
  • Tomi Männistö, Univ. of Helsinki, Finland
  • John McGregor, SEI/Clemson Univ., USA
  • Natsuko Noda, Shibaura Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Robert L. Nord, Software Engineering Institute, USA
  • Linda Northrop, Software Engineering Institute, USA
  • Xin Peng, Fudan Univ., China
  • Gilles Perrouin, PReCISE, Univ. of Namur, Belgium
  • Klaus Pohl, paluno, Univ. of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
  • Julia Rubin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • Juha Savolainen, Roche Diagnostics, Switzerland
  • Ina Schaefer, Technical Univ. Braunschweig, Germany
  • Klaus Schmid, Univ. of Hildesheim, Germany
  • Christa Schwanninger, Siemens AG, Germany
  • Norbert Siegmund, Univ. of Passau, Germany
  • Steffen Thiel, Furtwangen Univ. of Applied Sciences, Germany
  • Salvador Trujillo, IKERLAN Research Centre, Spain
  • Jun Wei, Chinese Academy of Sciences (ISCAS), China
  • Jules White, Vanderbilt Univ., USA
  • Yingfei Xiong, Peking Univ., China
  • Kentaro Yoshimura, Hitachi, Japan